English Champions 2015/16

Premier League

Leicester City


Promoted – Middlesbrough (2nd), Hull City (Play-off Winners)

League 1

Wigan Athletic
Promoted – Burton Albion (2nd), Barnsley (Play-off Winners)

League 2

Promoted – Oxford (2nd), AFC Wimbledon (Play-off Winners)

FA Cup

Manchester United

League Cup

Manchester City

FA Trophy

FC Halifax Town

FA Vase

Morpeth Town

Leicester City – Premier League Champions!

Leicester City are the Premier League champions, and they have a new hero, coming in the unlikely form of Eden Hazard – the man who has been a massive flop for Chelsea this year.

Last night, Tottenham Hotspur could not overcome Chelsea, and only managed a 2-2 draw in a feisty affair at Stamford Bridge. Despite being 2-0 up due to the evergreen Harry Kane and the lesser-seen Son Heung-min, Spurs managed to concede two goals in the second half thanks to centre-back Gary Cahill and the out-of-favour Eden Hazard, who scored an absolute beauty of a curler from outside of the box.

Spurs’ failure to win was crucial in the fact that in meant that it is now mathematically impossible for them to catch Leicester City, meaning that Claudio Ranieri has won his first Premier League title.

Stand out performances from players such as Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez, N’golo Kante and Kasper Schmeichel among many others have enable Leicester to maintain their grip on first place since before Christmas, and whilst other teams have fallen off in the race, they have remained calm and composed.

In what has been lauded as the “most unlikely triumph in the history of team sport”, small under-funded teams around the world can draw hope from the inspirational story of Leicester, who only just managed to avoid relegation from the Premier League last season. Truly mind-blowing stuff!

Riyad Mahrez – First African Winner of the PFA Player of the Year Award

PFA Player of the Year

Riyad Mahrez has made history by becoming the first African winner of the PFA Player of the Year award. In fact, he is only the second non-European player to win the prestigious award, after Luis Suarez was voted by his peers as the winner of the award in the 2013/14 season.

PFA Player of the Year

Bought for approximately £400,ooo in the summer of 2014, Mahrez has really shone this season as the main goal threat for Leicester City alongside the prolific Jamie Vardy in their incredible battle to make arguably the greatest piece of history so far in the Premier League era. His explosive pace and tricky feet have proved too much for many Premier League defenders this year, so it comes as no surprise that he won; what is surprising is that he is the first African winner of the PFA Player of the Year award.

Riyad Mahrez

Yaya Toure has long been considered one of the best midfielders in the Premier League in recent years, and, other than his overly confident (read: arrogant) attitude, he is a true spectacle to watch. With his departure from English football seemingly imminent, it is a true shame that he wasn’t the first African winner of the PFA Player of the Year award… that is to take nothing away from Mahrez, who has been an absolute pleasure to watch on so many occasions this season.


Mahrez, upon winning, dedicated his award to his Leicester team-mates saying “All the credit is for them seriously.” With two other Leicester City players named among the nominees for the award (Jamie Vardy and N’Golo Kante), it was only right that he acknowledged the achievements of his team-mates too, by revealing that “Without his [my] team-mates he [I] wouldn’t get this award.”


Congratulations once again to Riyad Mahrez on becoming the first African winner of the PFA Player of the Year award!


Premier League Managers – Past 5 Years (Part 2)

Roberto Martinez

Everton – 

David Moyes (March 2002 – June 2013)
Roberto Martinez (June 2013 – Present)

Total Managers: 2

Claudio RanieriLeicester City – 

Paulo Sousa (July 2010 – September 2010)
Sven-Goran Eriksson (October 2010 – October 2011)
Mike Stowell (October 2011 – November 2011) – Caretaker Manager
Nigel Pearson (November 2011 – June 2015)
Steve Walsh (June 2015 – July 2015) – Caretaker Manager
Craig Shakespeare (June 2015 – July 2015) – Caretaker Manager
Claudio Ranieri (July 2015 – Present)

Total Managers: 7

Jürgen KloppLiverpool –

Roy Hodgson (July 2010 – January 2011)
Kenny Dalglish (January 2011 – May 2012)
Brendan Rodgers (June 2012 – October 2015)
Jürgen Klopp (October 2015 – Present)

Total Managers: 4

Manuel PellgriniManchester City – 

Roberto Mancini (December 2009 – May 2013)
Brian Kidd (May 2013 – June 2013) – Caretaker Manager
Manuel Pellegrini (June 2013 – Present)

Total Mangers: 3

Sir Alex FergusonManchester United – 

Sir Alex Ferguson (November 1986 – May 2013)
David Moyes (May 2013 – April 2014)
Ryan Giggs (April 2014 – May 2014) – Caretaker Manager
Louis van Gaal (May 2014 – Present)

Total Managers: 4